Guyana Amazon Warriors Caribbean Premier League CPL 2017 Team Squad

The Guyana Amazon Warriors in one of the six teams that were part of the inaugural Caribbean Premier League. The team is a representative of Guyana in the CPL. The team was formed in the year 2013 and since then is one of the most consistent teams in reaching the playoffs. The team plays all its home matches at the Province Stadium situated in Guyana. The team has failed to reach the finals of the tournament only once till 2016.

Participation in the Caribbean Premier League
The Guyana Amazon Warriors topped the league table in the year 2013 winning 5 out of 7 matches. After topping the group the team fought with Trinbago Knight Riders and won the 1st semifinal by 7 wickets. With this victory they sealed the finals place with Jamaica Tallawahs but the later emerged champions on the night of the final. The team from Guyana had to deal with the runners up title.

In 2014 the team ended up in 2nd position winning 6 matched out of 9. By ending up 2nd they played in the 2nd playoffs and beat Jamaica Tallawahs to seal their place in the finals of 2014 against the Barbados Tridents. Once again luck didn’t favored the team as they ended up 2nd best on the night of the finals and ended up as runners up.

In the year 2015 the team ended the league stage at 2nd position and sealed their place in the 2nd round of playoffs. In the 2nd round they met Trinbago Knight Riders and lost the match thus getting knocked out of the tournament without making it to the finals.

In 2016 the team from Guyana ended the league stage as the 2nd best team on the table. In Qualifier 1 the team beat Jamaica Tallawahs to make it to the finals for the 3rd time. This time around once again their rivals were the Tallawahs but the result was opposite to that of the qualifier 1 as the team from Jamaica won the finals and for the 3rd time the Guyana Amazon Warriors were named as the runners up of the tournament.

Guyana Amazon Warriors CPL Squad 2017

Player Country Role Price Money
Sohail Tanvir Pakistan Bowler 160,000
Martin Guptill (C) New Zealand Batsman 130,000
Chadwick Walton West Indies All-rounder 110,000
Chris Lynn Australia Batsman 90,000
Rayad Emrit West Indies All-rounder 70,000
Rashid Khan Afghanistan Bowler 60,000
Jason Mohammed West Indies Bowler 40,000
Steven Taylor USA Batsman 30,000
Veerasammy Permaul West Indies Bowler 15,000
Roshon Primus West Indies All-rounder 10,000
Gajananad Singh West Indies Wicket-Keeper 7,500
Assad Fudadin West Indies All-rounder 7,500
Keon Joseph West Indies Bowler 5,000
Steven Jacobs West Indies All-rounder 5,000
Steven Katwaroo West Indies Wicket-Keeper 4,000
Shimron Hetmyer West Indies Batsman 3,000
Ali Khan Canada All-rounder 3,000

The Guyana Amazon Warriors has been one of the consistent teams of the CPL and has made it to the playoffs 4 times in the years 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016. Out of these 4 times the team has reached the finals 3 times.

The team has reached the finals of CPL thrice in the year 2013, 2014 and 2016. In all the three attempts to be the champions the team has ended as the runners up of the tournament.

Pakistan vs Australia | Pakistan vs Australia Schedule